A simple fix to Add Joy and Rest

A recent discovery I can’t stop talking about is the joy and bliss of sleeping with an eye mask. Oh my! How did I not know? Why didn’t someone tell me or remind me? I remember sleeping with one when traveling years ago and needing to sleep awkwardly in the middle of the day and ya’ll I am good at naps. I can fall asleep pretty easy and sleep anywhere from a 15 minute cat nap to two hours. Yes I did in fact fall asleep standing up in line at Disney with my roommate years ago after we played long and hard from opening of gates til end of night standing in line for the last trolley of the day. Sorry girl, I really didn’t mean to fall asleep listening to you, but yeah it had been a long ole day in that Florida heat.

After being on a variety of meds this past season my sleep schedule got a bit off and I was looking for ways to get more hours under the covers. I decided to purchase a sleep mask and see if that might help. Girl, it is rocking my world! There is something magical about setting my alarm after reading a few pages, sipping my water, and then reaching for that divine eye mask. Goodbye world off to neverland. I think it’s partially the blocking out of darkness that helps, somewhat the small weight that keeps my eyelids from fluttering a frenzy and then just that routine of telling my body it’s time for some shut eye. I was curious is there really something to it or just placebo effect in my head?

Eye masks tend to be one of the simplest and most effective of these solutions. When your brain senses pure darkness, it causes the production of melatonin, the chemical of sleep. To help induce this state, you can also use earplugs. When you block out both noise and light, your chances of falling asleep are improved.

—according to dreamessentials.com

It’s my simple joy and recent discovery that is bringing more life giving rest my way. Maybe give a cheapo one a try and see if it’s helpful for a little more shut eye in your world.  That’s my recent discovery that I think every lady needs to own. What else? What are some of your favorite items you think every gal needs to hear about? Tried a new beverage that is a must-have? Favorite beauty supply that’s rocking your world? Tell US, don’t keep it a secret all for yourself. What are you loving and have to shout it out!?

 

 

Leave a comment